Of my assigned portion

maxresdefault-1“As a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you” is His promise in Isaiah 66:13. The choice is ours. It depend on our willingness to see everything in God, receive all from His hand,accept with gratitude just the portion and the cup He offers. Shall I charge Him with a mistake in His measurements or with misjudging the sphere in which I can best learn to trust Him? Has He misplaced me? Is He ignorant of things or people which, in my view, hinder my doing His will?

God came down and lived in this same world as a man. He showed us how to live this world, subject to its vicissitudes and book princess, not wafter into another world, but changed into saints in this world. The secret is Christ in me,  not me in a different set of circumstances.”

-Elisabeth Elliott, Keep a Quiet Heart, p.20

He whose heart is kind beyond all measure

Gives unto each day what He deems best,

Lovingly its part of pain and pleasure,

Mingling toil with peace and rest.

-Lisa Sandell, Swedish

Leave a Reply

