Do I Look like Thee, Oh LORD?

I am always encouraged by the testaments of older saints who have disposed of their earthly life for Christ’s sake. It never fails that I experience a deep kinship when learning of their convictions in forsaking this world for the eternal glory to be revealed (Romans 8:18, For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory that is to be revealed to us; 2 Corinthians 4:17, For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison; 2 Timothy 2:10, For this reason I endure all things for the sake of those who are chosen, so that they also may obtain the salvation which is in Christ Jesus and with it eternal glory). But, I am I really like them. Do I love my Savior as they?

Inevitably, there is a longing, that seems to always have been, but yet surfaces anew every time I hear or read the testaments of saints gone before me. It is as if my mind, spirit, and soul unanimously hail, “AMEN!” and “YES LORD!” (like it is written of the heavenly hosts in Revelation, praise Jesus). And so, this reminds me of the author’s words in Hebrews, “… and let us consider how to stimulate one another to love and good deeds,” (Hebrews 10:24) and most assuredly, I feel as though the whole purpose of Hebrews 13:7, “Remember those who led you, who spoke the word of God to you; and considering the result of their conduct, imitate their faith.” is exemplified in these moments: “Remember those who led you; who spoke the Word of God to you; Consider the result of their life; imitate their faith.” How am I imitating them? 

I was conversing with a dear friend the Lord sent to me since our move, here.  We spoke of the worldly view of Christ followers, such as ourselves. We weren’t boasting in ourselves, but in the Lord and what He has done IN us and how we used to think of the Bible Thumpers we have now become. All glory to God for our cloudy judgments to be made manifest in our lives. It is CHRIST who LIVES in US! How did we get there from here. [By] Christ and Christ alone! Jim Elliott wrote, “Lord, make my way prosperous not that I achieve high station, but that my life be an exhibit to the value of knowing God.”  Though I am only 39 years old. In my short life time, I have come to know my Lord. Most of my knowledge of Him has come through hard trials and sufferings. Value of it all: PRICELESS.

It is my earnest desire to look like Jesus. And to sound like Him. Oh do I fail my Savior with my Imitation of Him. It is sickening at times. My thoughts. My MOUTH. Oh LORD may I keep my instruments from sin!!! (Romans 6:13, “and do not go on presenting the members of your body to sin as instruments of unrighteousness; but present yourselves to God as those alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness to God.”)

Do I look like Thee, LORD? I ask; fainthearted from the expected response of stains of guilt -due to my sin….Wretched am I! Wretched am I! Oh for Grace that You have lavished upon Your daughter. At times, it is hard to think of accepting Your forgiveness, LORD. But, You, Holy Spirit, lead and guide me! Praise You Lord for sending Your Spirit!  Lest,  I know not my graceful Savior!  “I couldn’t have asked for more than God in deliberate grace has surprised me with!” wrote, Jim Elliot.

I’ll concluded with a quote from Amy Carmichael.

“Let us end on a very simple note: Let us listen to simple words; our Lord speak simply: “Trust Me, My child,” He says. “Trust Me with a humbler heart and a fuller abandon to My will than ever thou didst before. Trust Me to pour My love through thee, as minute succeeds minute. And if thou shouldst be conscious of anything hindering that flow, do not hurt My love by going away from Me in discouragement, for nothing can hurt so much as that. Draw all the closer to Me; come, flee unto Me to hide thee, even from thyself. Tell Me about the trouble. Trust Me to turn My hand upon thee and thoroughly to remove the boulder that has choked they river-bed, and take away all the sand that has silted up the channel. I will not leave thee until I have done that which I have spoken to thee of. I will perfect that which concerneth thee. Fear thou not, O child of My love; fear not.”
― Amy Carmichael, If

It is not unlike the enemy of our soul, the devil, to have us doubt that we belong to our Father. He tempted Jesus. He will do the same with us.  EVEN try to get us to believe that it is by our own hands, that we change. It is by our giving up of ourselves and it all the desires to come with us, naturally; totally surrendering to Him, that He does the change in us! Therefore. We do not have to doubt His work in us. Because His work is wonderful and is well done. (Psalm 139:14,  I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well.)

Lord, I trust You to make me look like You more and more. I trust You that I  do est look like Thee!

Leave a Reply

