Out of Sorts, a Heart Issue

the-heart-of-the-matter1Hormones beget feelings, feelings beget thoughts, thoughts begets hormones, hormones begets thoughts, life begets thoughts, my thoughts. Wait. My heart begetsUgh. Again, I am without excuse and have to go back to that “heart of the matter thing”. No life experience, no unruly child, no burnt dinner, no late night, no PMS begets what comes out of my mouth! It’s my heart. My heart begets evil thoughts and feelings of anxiety, harsh words and mean looks! Jesus explained to His disciples when teaching them what really defiles a person. It was not what goes into the mouth, as they were taught. For example abstaining from certain foods. But what comes out of the mouth. He says in verses 18 and 19 of Matthew 15,“But the things that proceed out of the mouth come from the heart, and those defile the man. “For out of the heart come evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witness, slanders.…

Ay yi yi!

So how do I get my heart right? Can I fix my heart? ‘Cause dude, I am tired of living by the wind. I am tired of being bothered and not knowing why. I am tired of being angry and lashing out and hurting others with my words or mean looks. I don’t want to function like this anymore.

Welp! First of all, I CAN’T, YOU CAN’T, but GOD CAN and HE WILL.

Jeremiah 17:9-10 says, “the heart is deceitful above all things,and desperately sick;
who can understand it? I the LORD search the heart and test the mind, to give every man according to his ways, according to the fruit of his deeds.” As it is written, the heart is most deceitful and sick, desperately sick and ONLY the Lord can understand it, search it and test it! Only the Lord. So I cannot fix my own heart.

Now that I know that what should I do then? I. You. We. We CRY OUT to God! We take our heart and give it to Him and ask Him to search it to have His way with it! Lamentations 2:19, Jeremiah writes “Arise, cry out in the night, at the beginning of the night watches! Pour out your heart like water before the presence of the Lord!”


Praise Break!!!

Ahhh!!! Thank You, Father! For You have given us a Way out of being in our heads all day long. You don’t leave us in our dysfunction! Praise You Lord!


I know this is written easier than said and easier than lived out. I GET IT! I find myself here quite often! But, God by His grace will do IT if you ask Him to help you! We all need to Vent or LAMENT! Jeremiah has a whole book of Laments to God! Why not us?! God is the ONLY One who can handle our laments properly. He’s God. He knows and understands what we mean to say. He understands our emotions and our unspeakable desires, our yearnings we can put into words. Here is a promise God made to His people,  “And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to obey my rules.”(Ezekiel 36:27-27). Also, “‘Thus says the Lord GOD: I will gather you from the peoples and assemble you out of the countries where you have been scattered, and I will give you the land of Israel.’ And when they come there, they will remove from it all its detestable things and all its abominations. And I will give them one heart, and a new spirit I will put within them. I will remove the heart of stone from their flesh and give them a heart of flesh, that they may walk in my statutes and keep my rules and obey them. And they shall be my people, and I will be their God. But as for those whose heart goes after their detestable things and their abominations, I will bring their deeds upon their own heads, declares the Lord GOD.” (Ezekiel 11:17-21) These verses refer to God’s promises for His beloved children of Israel. But it is also for us. He promises they will no longer be bound by law, He has always desired their full devotion. Devotion from the heart. So, He tells them He will give them a new heart and His Spirit will live in those who follow after Him. This is a great reminder for those of us who do walk and live for God by the Way of His Son Jesus Christ. We now live as believers and recipients of this promise because His Son came and died and rose again and ascended to heaven and is now seated at the right hand of God. And His Holy Spirit now lives on the inside of us and He leads and guides us to all truth.  Therefore, if we ask Him or sense His leading to bring our heart matters to Him, we MUST do just that! Take it ALL to Him. Because He cares for us! And He can handle it and clean us up again!

To be honest, contrary to popular belief, I do not share much! When I was growing up, I was taught to not have my own feelings. So, I would sneak a way a cry and pray. I would journal. There was a time during my later high school years, I was blessed with those who cared to listen. By then, it too was hard and my trust levels were skim. So needless to say after being married 11 years now, I am still learning how to share. And, as my relationship with my Father has grown over the years, I have learned going to Him is a MUST and I have learned I can come to Him just as I am. And “just as I am” looks like me thinking I’m about to lose my mind. I am so glad He can figure me out and get me out of my messful (new word) thinking. It was hard for me to willing CRY OUT to God for a while, but then when I had no choice but to GO STARK CRAZY or CRY OUT TO HIM, I chose the wiser! And Beloved, it has become much easier. He Gets Me! He Loves me. I don’t deserve it to be called His beloved but He says it’s so!

Do you need to Cry Out to the Lord? A good way to measure that would be to ask your spouse or the person closest to you.  Ask them. “Do I need to cry out to God?” and be ready! Or maybe they need to go cry out. Hahaha!  You get my point.

CRY OUT <HERE!

In my trouble I cried to the LORD, And He answered me.- Psalm 120:1

Leave a Reply

